RSS

People and the iPad

19 Aug

It seems People Magazine has one-upped all the magazines hurriedly creating apps for the iPhone and iPad crowd.  As long as you’re a subscriber, you get the People app for free.  This certainly beats paying the full price all the magazines I’ve read about want to charge.  These magazines see the app as a money-making venture.

I admire People for not trying to soak their customers in the interest of  their bottom line instead of realizing that they should probably simply push some of their countless overpaid executives out without a parachute to that end.

It could even understand People (and the others) tacking on a subscriber surcharge for the convenience of getting it both ways, say two to five dollars more a year. And if I want People and I’m not a subscriber, then yes charge me. Still, charge me something less than the full price since it costs them less to deliver the contents.

But kudos to People.

If I had an iPad, I would subscribe. That is if Apple were to allow full subscriptions versus single copy sales.  And sorry, I can’t subscribe to the paper one because I care enough about the environment not to get a magazine that will simply stack up, mostly unread, in my bathroom. In addition, I’d be put on lock-down if I added one more to my reading list.

Forbes? Time? Oprah? Come on. Don’t let People, with their movie stars and gossip, one up you.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 19, 2010 in Know this?

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “People and the iPad

  1. Network Camera

    August 29, 2010 at 1:58 am

    Nice work! great blog

     
    • communjunkie

      September 4, 2010 at 2:55 pm

      Thanks so much for coming by! I apologize for delayed response, but new at this and somehow comments ended up in spam. Thanks again, your comment is encouraging. Please come again!
      Dee

       

Leave a Reply

 
